printer-friendly version


The Republic of the Philippines v. The People’s Republic of China


On 22 January 2013, the Republic of the Philippines instituted arbitral proceedings against the People’s Republic of China under Annex VII to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (the “Convention”), “with respect to the dispute with China over the maritime jurisdiction of the Philippines in the West Philippine Sea.” On 19 February 2013, China presented a Note Verbale to the Philippines in which it described “the Position of China on the South China Sea issues,” and rejected and returned the Philippines’ Notification. The Permanent Court of Arbitration acts as Registry in this arbitration.

Arbitral Tribunal

The members of the Arbitral Tribunal are:

Judge Thomas A. Mensah (President)
Judge Jean-Pierre Cot
Judge Stanislaw Pawlak
Professor Alfred H. A. Soons
Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum

Party Representatives

The Philippines is represented by: 


Florin T. Hilbay, Acting Solicitor General
Office of the Solicitor General, Makati, Republic of the Philippines

Paul S. Reichler
Lawrence H. Martin
Foley Hoag LLP, Washington DC, United States of America

Professor Bernard H. Oxman
University of Miami School of Law, Miami, United States of America

Professor Philippe Sands QC
Matrix Chambers, London, United Kingdom

Professor Alan Boyle
Essex Court Chambers, London, United Kingdom


China has not appointed an agent. In a Note Verbale to the PCA on 1 August 2013, China reiterated “its position that it does not accept the arbitration initiated by the Philippines.”

Press Releases







The Arbitral Tribunal in Philippines v. China, L to R: Judge Jean-Pierre Cot,  Judge Stanislaw Pawlak, Judge Thomas A. Mensah (President), Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum, Professor Alfred H. A. Soons