printer-friendly version

The Republic of Mauritius v. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland


Pursuant to Article 287 and Annex VII, Article 1 of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, on 20 December 2010 the Republic of Mauritius instituted arbitral proceedings concerning the establishment by the United Kingdom of a Marine Protected Area around the Chagos Archipelago. The Permanent Court of Arbitration acts as Registry in this arbitration.



The Members of the Arbitral Tribunal are:


Professor Ivan Shearer (President)
Judge Sir Christopher Greenwood CMG QC
Judge Albert Hoffmann
Judge James Kateka
Judge Rüdiger Wolfrum


Party Representatives


The Republic of Mauritius is represented by:




Mr. Dheerendra Kumar Dabee SC, Solicitor-General of Mauritius

Deputy Agent:


Ms. Aruna Devi Narain, Parliamentary Counsel



Professor James Crawford SC, Matrix Chambers, London 
Ms. Alison Macdonald, Matrix Chambers, London 
Professor Philippe Sands QC, Matrix Chambers, London 
Mr. Paul S. Reichler, Foley Hoag LLP, Washington, D.C. 
Ms. Elizabeth Wilmshurst CMG, Doughty Street Chambers

Mr. Andrew Loewenstein, Foley Hoag LLP, Washington, D.C.


The United Kingdom is represented by:



Ms. Alice Lacourt, Legal Counsellor at the Foreignand Commonwealth Office 


Deputy Agent: 

Ms. Nicola Smith, Foreign and Commonwealth Office



Sir Michael Wood KCMG, 20 Essex Street, London 
Professor Alan Boyle, Essex Court Chambers 
Mr. Samuel Wordsworth, Essex Court Chambers 
Ms. Penelope Nevill, 20 Essex Street, London


On 30 November 2011, the Tribunal issued a Reasoned Decision on Challenge 



On 15 January 2013, the Tribunal issued Procedural Order No. 2



From 22 April to 9 May 2014, the Tribunal conducted a hearing on jurisdiction and the merits 




The Parties agreed to make the written pleadings public. The following documents are currently available for download: