printer-friendly version

 Arbitration under the Timor Sea Treaty (Timor-Leste v. Australia)


On 23 April 2013, the Republic of Timor-Leste instituted arbitral proceedings against the Commonwealth of Australia under Paragraph (b) of Annex B to Article 23 of the Timor Sea Treaty between the Government of East Timor and the Government of Australia of 20 May 2002. The Permanent Court of Arbitration acts as Registry in this arbitration.


Arbitral Tribunal


The members of the Arbitral Tribunal are:


Professor Tullio Treves (Chairman)

Lord Collins of Mapesbury PC, FBA

Professor W. Michael Reisman


Party Representatives


Timor-Leste is represented by:




H.E. Mr. Joaquim da Fonseca

Ambassador of Timor-Leste to the United Kingdom




Sir Elihu Lauterpacht CBE, QC

20 Essex St. Chambers


Professor Vaughan Lowe QC

Essex Court Chambers


Dr. Andrew Legg
Essex Court Chambers



Australia is represented by:




Mr. John Reid

First Assistant Secretary, International Law and Human Rights Division

Attorney-General's Department




Mr. Justin Gleeson SC

Solicitor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia


Professor James Crawford AC SC

Lauterpacht Centre for International Law


Mr. Henry Burmester AO QC

Special Counsel

Office of General Counsel

Australian Government Solicitor


Professor Chester Brown

Professor of International Law and International Arbitration

University of Sydney