printer-friendly version


Indus Waters Kishenganga Arbitration (Pakistan v. India)


On May 17, 2010, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan instituted arbitral proceedings against the Republic of India under Paragraph 2(b) of Annexure G to the Indus Waters Treaty 1960. A Court of Arbitration composed of seven members has been constituted pursuant to Annexure G. The Permanent Court of Arbitration acted as Secretariat to the Court of Arbitration pursuant to Paragraph 15(a) of Annexure G.

The Court of Arbitration was composed of:

Judge Stephen M. Schwebel (Chairman)
Sir Franklin Berman KCMG QC
Professor Howard S. Wheater FREng
Professor Lucius Caflisch
Professor Jan Paulsson
Judge Bruno Simma
H.E. Judge Peter Tomka


On December 20, 2013, the Court of Arbitration rendered its Final Award.


On December 20, 2013, the Court of Arbitration issued a Decision on India's Request for Clarification or Interpretation dated 20 May, 2013. 


On February 18, 2013, the Court of Arbitration rendered a Partial Award.


On August 31, 2012, the Court of Arbitration concluded a two-week hearing on the merits.


On August 20, 2012, the Court of Arbitration commenced the hearing on the merits.


The Court of Arbitration conducted a visit of the Neelum River Valley.


On September 23, 2011, the Court of Arbitration issued an Order on Interim Measures.


The Court of Arbitration conducted a visit of the Neelum-Jhelum and Kishenganga Hydroelectric Projects and surrounding areas in June 2011.