printer-friendly version


Bay of Bengal Maritime Boundary Arbitration between Bangladesh and India

On October 8, 2009, the People’s Republic of Bangladesh instituted arbitral proceedings concerning the delimitation of the maritime boundary between Bangladesh and the Republic of India pursuant to Article 287 and Annex VII, Article 1 of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). The Permanent Court of Arbitration acts as Registry in this arbitration.


The Members of the Arbitral Tribunal are:

Professor Dr. Rüdiger Wolfrum (President)
Judge Thomas A. Mensah
Dr. Pemmaraju Sreenivasa Rao
Professor Ivan Shearer

Judge Jean-Pierre Cot



Party Representatives

Bangladesh is represented by:




Dr. Dipu Moni, Minister of Foreign Affairs 


Deputy Agent:   


Rear Admiral Md. Khurshed Alam (Retd), Additional Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs 




Professor James Crawford SC, Matrix Chambers, London
Professor Philippe Sands QC, Matrix Chambers, London
Mr. Paul S. Reichler, Foley Hoag LLP, Washington, D.C.
Professor Alan Boyle, Essex Court Chambers, London
Professor Payam Akhavan, McGill University, Montreal
Mr. Lawrence Martin, Foley Hoag LLP, Washington, D.C. 

India is represented by:




Dr. Neeru Chadha, Joint Secretary & The Legal Advisor, Ministry of External Affairs


Mr. Harsh Vardhan Shringla, Joint Secretary (BSM), Ministry of External Affairs 


Deputy Agent:


Mr. Puneet Agrawal, Director (BSM), Ministry of External Affairs




Mr. R.K.P. Shankardass
Professor Alain Pellet, University of Paris Ouest, Nanterre – La Défense
Sir Michael Wood, 20 Essex Street, London

Professor W. Michael Reisman, Yale Law School


Junior Counsel:


Mr. Benjamin Samson

Mr. Eran Sthoeger







Press Releases