printer-friendly version


The Government of Sudan / The Sudan People's Liberation Movement/Army (Abyei Arbitration)


On July 11, 2008, the Government of Sudan and the Sudan People's Liberation Movement deposited an Arbitration Agreement with the PCA. A five member arbitral tribunal was then constituted to decide the case, with the PCA acting as registry and providing administrative support. The arbitration was conducted under the  PCA Optional Rules for Arbitrating Disputes between Two Parties of Which Only One is a State.



Final Award of the Tribunal


On July 22, 2009, the arbitral tribunal rendered its Final Award at the Peace Palace.




The proceedings were broadcast on this website:



The tribunal has authorized the PCA to issue a press release summarizing the Final Award in English and in Arabic.



Arabic Translations 

الترجمات العربية

Under Article 7 of the Parties' Arbitration Agreement, English is the language of the arbitration proceedings. The Arabic translations of the Final Award and Dissenting Opinion are being made available by the PCA International Bureau pursuant to

Article 9(3) of the Arbitration Agreement:







The arbitral tribunal consisted of:


Professor Pierre-Marie Dupuy (Presiding Arbitrator) 
H.E. Judge Awn Al-Khasawneh
Professor Dr. Gerhard Hafner
Professor W. Michael Reisman
Judge Stephen Schwebel


Party Representatives


The Government of Sudan


Ambassador Dirdeiry Mohamed Ahmed, Dirdeiry & Co., Khartoum



Dr. Faisal Abdel Rahamn Ali Taha; and
Dr. Abdelrahman Ibrahim Elkhalifa


Counsel and


Professor James Crawford QC, S.C., Matrix Chambers, London;
Dr. Nabil Elaraby, Zaki Hashem & Partners, Cairo;
Professor Alain Pellet, University of Paris Ouest, Nanterre – La Défense; and

Mr. Rodman Bundy and Ms. Loretta Malintoppi, Eversheds LLP, Paris.


 The Sudan People's Liberation Movement/Army


Dr. Riek Machar Teny, Deputy Chairman Sudan People’s Liberation Movement; and
Minister Luka Biong Deng, Member of the SPLM Team for the Implementation of 

  Abyei Protocol



Gary Born, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, London;
Wendy Miles, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP, London;
Professor Paul R. Williams, Public International Law and Policy Group, Washington DC;
Vanessa Jiménez; Public International Law and Policy Group, Washington DC. 



The tribunal set the following procedural schedule in consultation with the parties and in accordance with the Arbitration Agreement:


    • December 18, 2008: Filing of Memorials
    • February 13, 2009: Filing of Counter-Memorials
    • February 28, 2009: Filing of Rejoinders
    • April 18-23, 2009: Oral Pleadings in The Hague


Oral Pleadings

Oral pleadings took place at the Peace Palace from April 18 - 23, 2009. Webcasts of the Oral Pleadings were broadcast from this website. 





The Parties agreed to make the pleadings, transcripts, decisions and certain other documents public. The following documents are currently available for download:



News Links



Members of the Tribunal, photographed before the November 24, 2008 preliminary procedural meeting in The Hague. Standing from left to right: Professor Dr. Gerhard Hafner, Professor Pierre-Marie Dupuy (Presiding Arbitrator), Judge Stephen Schwebel. Seated from left to right: H.E. Judge Awn Al-Khasawneh, Professor W. Michael Reisman. 


The parties met on July 11, 2008 in the Office of the PCA Secretary-General to deposit the Arbitration Agreement. Seated from left to right: H.E. Abuelgasim A. Idris, Ambassador of the Republic of Sudan to The Netherlands, Ambassador Dirdeiry Mohamed Ahmed, Agent of the Government of Sudan, Maurizio Brunetti, Special Counsel, PCA; Judith Levine, Registrar and Legal Counsel, PCA; Hon. Dr. Luka Biong Deng, Minister of Presidential Affairs, Government of Southern Sudan and Co-Agent for the SPLM; Mr. Sayed A. Ahmed, Legal Counselor, Embassy of the Republic of Sudan in The Netherlands.