printer-friendly version


Barbados/Trinidad and Tobago


The Permanent Court of Arbitration acted as registry in an arbitration between Barbados and the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, relating to the delimitation of the Exclusive Economic Zone and Continental Shelf between them, submitted under Part XV of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) to an arbitral tribunal constituted in accordance with UNCLOS Annex VII.


The arbitral tribunal consisted of:


    Judge Stephen Schwebel (President)
    Mr. Ian Brownlie CBE QC
    Professor Vaughan Lowe
    Professor Francisco Orrego Vicuña
    Sir Arthur Watts KCMG QC


The tribunal rendered its Award on April 11, 2006 (see press release below). The authoritative text of the final award, as corrected for errata, may be found below.


The following PDF documents pertaining to this arbitration can be downloaded. Please note that depending on your internet connection downloading may take a considerable amount of time due to the size of some documents.


Rules of Procedure - August 23, 2004


Order No. 1 - June 7, 2004

Order No. 2 - August 23, 2004
Order No. 3 - September 17, 2004
Order No. 4 - October 26, 2004


Pleadings submitted by the Parties:

Statement of Claim (Barbados)

Memorial (Barbados) 

    Text of Memorial 
    Maps 1 - 5 
    Maps 6 - 11
Counter-Memorial (Trinidad and Tobago) 
    Text of Counter-Memorial 
Reply (Barbados) 
    Text of Reply
    Maps 1 - 11

    Maps 12 - 22

Rejoinder (Trinidad and Tobago) 
    Text of Rejoinder


Transcripts of Hearings, London, October 2005: 
    Day 1 
    Day 2 
    Day 3 
    Day 4 
    Day 5 
    Day 6 
    Day 7 
    Day 8

    Press Release - August 23, 2004  

    Statement by the President - October 24, 2005 

    Press release - April 10, 2006 

    Press Release -April 11, 2006


    Award of the Arbitral Tribunal - April 11, 2006